Drinking Water & Health
Types of Drinking Water
  • Natural water
    Originated from wells, mountain springs, reservoirs, lakes, underground springs, or alpine glaciers.
  • Natural mineral water
    Water naturally gushing deep underground or collected by drilling, containing a certain amount of minerals or trace elements.
  • Drink pure water
    Originating from the surface, underground or public water supply system, it does not contain minerals or trace elements.
  • Other drinking water
    Refers to packaged drinking water other than natural water, natural mineral water, and drinking pure water. A certain amount of minerals can be added manually.
Water and Life Health
Drinking Water is Closely Related to the Health of Human Life
Water content in the human body
With increasing age, the water content in the human body will gradually decrease. The embryonic water content can reach 98%, the average fetus at 3 months is 91%, the average at 8 months is 81%, and the average at newborns is 80%. After 10-16 years of age, it gradually reaches adult levels. Water content is 50% for men over 60 years and about 45% for women.
Minerals in Water
  • Neglected Water Nutrition
  • The Importance of Magnesium in Drinking Water
  • The Importance of Calcium in Drinking Water
  • Many people think the content of mineral elements in water is very small and can be ignored. In fact, no matter how rich the diet structure, a certain proportion of important mineral elements required by the human body comes from drinking water.
  • According to an academician of the American Academy of Engineering, over the long-term, consumption of ion-free water can lead to nutritional deficiencies [2]
  • The World Health Organization's Nutrients in Drinking Water states that drinking water is an indispensable source of minerals intake for human body. Purified water cannot supplement minerals, and causes the loss of mineral elements from the body [3]
pH of Water
Why test the pH of water?
The pH of water is determined by the mineral components dissolved in the water. Natural water normally contains many minerals such as potassium, calcium, sodium, magnesium, metasilicate, etc., results in weakly alkaline of water. Water without minerals tends to be acidic. Therefore, by testing the pH of water, you can briefly determine if the water contains natural minerals.
What kind of water is suitable for infants and young children?
Chinese Nutrition Society recommends that infants and young children should scientifically drink water based on different growing stages [8]
0-6 months babies
0.7L per day
unless the weather is hot or other reasons
Breast milk can fulfill water requires
7-12 months babies
0.9L per day
60% is supplemented by milk
40% through water and other complementary food supplements
1-3 years old
1.3L per day
more than 60% from water
and complementary food supplements
Note: Refer to "Reference intake of dietary nutrients for Chinese residents", edited by Chinese Nutrition Society
The mineral content of drinking water for infants and young children should not be too high
The liver and kidney functions of infants and young children are not yet mature. Drinking high mineral content water will increase the burden on the liver and kidney of infants and young children.


The German Federal Law Gazette [9] and the Austrian Federal Law Gazette [10] both explicitly require that the drinking water provided to infants and young children should have sodium ≤20mg / L.


In 2005, the journal from WHO, “Nutrients minerals in drinking water: implications for the nutrition of infants and young children” [11] pointed out that infants and young children are more vulnerable to the harmful effects of high mineral salt intake.


Bulgaria Pediatricians also recommend TDS ≤ 100 mg/L for infant drinking water [12]. TDS refers to the total dissolved solids in water.
Drinking water for infants and young children must not be completely free of mineral elements
Infants and young children have relatively narrow channels to obtain minerals, it is necessary for drinking water to contain suitable minerals. Long time purified water drinking will take out the body's own sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium and other minerals. Infant formulas normally contain only 8 to 12 mineral elements. Baby's growth needs nutrition, so it is recommended to use drinking water containing natural mineral elements to brew milk powder.

Infant drinking water must strictly meet microbe limits
As the gastrointestinal tract of infants is still very fragile, foreign countries require commercial sterility of drinking water for infants [13], China also has strict microbiological requirements for liquid food for infants [14-16].


China stipulates that liquid infant formula must meet the requirements of commercial sterility, but infant drinking water is not included at present. There is no requirement for commercial sterility in the existing sanitary (safety) standards for drinking water and bottled drinking water, either.


Commercial sterility: the product contains no pathogenic microorganisms, or non-pathogenic microorganisms that can reproduce at normal temperatures
Therefore, even if the mineral content of ordinary bottled water meets the requirements, it still needs to be boiled before infants and children drinking.
Click to view references
[8] 中国营养学会.中国居民膳食指南2016 [M]. 北京:人民卫生出版社, 2016.
[9] Bundesrat. Verordnung über natürliches Mineralwasser, Quellwasser und Tafelwasser (Mineral-und Tafelwasser-Verordnung): Min/TafelWV[S/OL]. [2019-07-18]. https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/min_tafelwv/Min_TafelWV.pdf.
[10] Verordnung der Bundesministerin für Frauenangelegenheiten und Verbraucherschutz. Verordnung der Bundesministerin für Frauenangelegenheiten und Verbraucherschutz über lebende Muscheln (Muschelverordnung): 391L0492, 389L0662[S/OL]. [2019-07-18]. faolex.fao.org/docs/texts/aut8226.doc.
[11] Sievers E. Nutrient minerals in drinking water: implications for the nutrition of infants and young children [A]. in WHO (eds.). Nutrients in drinking water [C]. Geneva: The WHO Press, 2005, 164-175.
[12] Митова M. Общата минерализация над 100 mg/l затруднява организма на новороденото [N]. Монитор, (2007-1-8)[2010-3-21]. http://www.monitor.bg/article?id=106431
[13] FDA. Code of Federal Regulations, Bottled Water: 21 CFR 65.110 [S/OL]. [2019-07-18]. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/CFRSearch. cfm?fr=165.110&SearchTerm=bottled%20water.
[14] 中华人民共和国卫生部. 食品安全国家标准婴儿配方食品:GB 10765-2010 [S]. 北京:中国标准出版社, 2011.
[15] 中华人民共和国卫生部. 食品安全国家标准较大婴儿和幼儿配方食品:GB 10767-2010 [S]. 北京:中国标准出版社, 2011.
[16] 中华人民共和国卫生部. 食品安全国家标准婴幼儿罐装辅助食品:GB 10770-2010 [S]. 北京:中国标准出版社, 2011.

水健康知识
水的种类
  • 天然水
    源自于水井、山泉、水库、湖泊、地下泉水或高山冰川等。
  • 天然矿泉水
    地下深处自然涌出或经钻井采集,含有特定含量的矿物质或微量元素的水。
  • 饮用纯净水
    来源于地表、地下或公共供水系统,其不含矿物质或微量元素。
  • 其他饮用水
    指除天然水、天然矿泉水、饮用纯净水之外的包装饮用水,可以人工添加一定含量的矿物质。
水与生命健康
水与人类生命健康息息相关
人体中水的含量
随年龄增加,人体内的含水量会逐渐减少。胚胎期含水量可达98%,3个月胎儿平均为91%,8个月时平均为81%,新生儿平均为80%,到10-16岁以后,逐渐达到成人水平。60岁以上的男性含水量为50%,女性约45%。
水中的矿物质
  • 被忽视的水中的营养
  • 饮用水中镁的重要性
  • 饮用水中钙的重要性
  • 有不少人认为水中的矿物元素含量很少,可以忽略。事实上,不管饮食结构多么丰富,饮用水始终是人体所需矿物质的主要来源之一。
  • 美国工程院院士指出,长期饮用不含矿物元素的水会造成营养不良 [2]
  • 世界卫生组织《饮用水中的营养》指出,饮用水中的矿物元素是人体矿物质不可缺少的来源。饮用纯净水不仅不补充矿物质,还会导致体内矿物质流失 [3]
水的pH值
为什么要测试水的pH?
水的酸碱度是由水中溶解的矿物质决定的。 天然的水里往往含有钾、钙、钠、镁、偏硅酸等多种矿物质,多呈弱碱性。而不含这些矿物质的水往往呈酸性。因此,通过测试水的pH可以直观判断水中是否含有天然矿物质。
什么样的水适合婴幼儿饮用?
中国营养学会建议婴幼儿分年龄段科学饮水 [8]
0-6个月婴儿
0.7L每天
除非天气炎热或其他原因
母乳就可以提供饮水
7-12个月婴儿
0.9L每天
60%通过喝奶补充
40%通过其他饮水和辅食补充
1-3岁幼儿
1.3L每天
60%以上来自饮水
和辅食补充
注:参考《中国居民膳食营养素参考摄入量》,中国营养学会编著
婴幼儿的饮用水矿物质含量不能太高
婴幼儿的肝脏和肾脏功能尚未发育成熟,如果给婴幼儿喝高矿物质的水,就会增加婴幼儿的肝脏和肾脏负担。


德国联邦法律公报 [9] 、奥地利联邦法律公报 [10] 都明确要求,提供给婴幼儿的饮用水,钠≤20mg/L。


在2005年,世界卫生组织《饮用水中的营养矿物质对婴幼儿营养的影响》 [11] 指出:婴幼儿更容易受到高矿物盐摄入的有害影响。


保加利亚儿科专家建议婴幼儿饮用水TDS≤100 mg/L [12] 。TDS即total dissolved solids,指水中溶解性总固体。
婴幼儿的饮用水不能完全没有矿物元素
婴幼儿获取矿物质的渠道比较单一,饮用水中含有适宜的矿物元素是必要的。长期只饮用不含矿物质的水,会带出身体本身的钠、钾、钙、镁等矿物质。婴幼儿配方奶粉中一般只添加8 ~ 12种矿物元素,宝宝的成长需要营养,建议使用含有天然矿物元素的饮用水冲泡奶粉。

婴幼儿饮用水必须符合严格微生物要求
由于婴幼儿的胃肠道还很脆弱,因此,国外对于婴幼儿饮用水要求商业无菌 [13] ,我国对婴幼儿液态食品亦有严格的微生物要求 [14-16]


我国规定液态婴幼儿配方食品必须满足商业无菌,但目前没有针对婴幼儿饮用水的法规。现有的生活饮用水和瓶装饮用水食品卫生(安全)标准均未要求商业无菌。


商业无菌是指,产品不含有致病微生物,也不含有在通常温度下能繁殖的非致病微生物。
因此,国内即使矿物质含量满足要求的普通瓶装水,也仍需要煮沸后才能提供给婴幼儿饮用。
点击查看参考文献
[8] 中国营养学会.中国居民膳食指南2016 [M]. 北京:人民卫生出版社, 2016.
[9] Bundesrat. Verordnung über natürliches Mineralwasser, Quellwasser und Tafelwasser (Mineral-und Tafelwasser-Verordnung): Min/TafelWV[S/OL]. [2019-07-18]. https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/min_tafelwv/Min_TafelWV.pdf.
[10] Verordnung der Bundesministerin für Frauenangelegenheiten und Verbraucherschutz. Verordnung der Bundesministerin für Frauenangelegenheiten und Verbraucherschutz über lebende Muscheln (Muschelverordnung): 391L0492, 389L0662[S/OL]. [2019-07-18]. faolex.fao.org/docs/texts/aut8226.doc.
[11] Sievers E. Nutrient minerals in drinking water: implications for the nutrition of infants and young children [A]. in WHO (eds.). Nutrients in drinking water [C]. Geneva: The WHO Press, 2005, 164-175.
[12] Митова M. Общата минерализация над 100 mg/l затруднява организма на новороденото [N]. Монитор, (2007-1-8)[2010-3-21]. http://www.monitor.bg/article?id=106431
[13] FDA. Code of Federal Regulations, Bottled Water: 21 CFR 65.110 [S/OL]. [2019-07-18]. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/CFRSearch. cfm?fr=165.110&SearchTerm=bottled%20water.
[14] 中华人民共和国卫生部. 食品安全国家标准婴儿配方食品:GB 10765-2010 [S]. 北京:中国标准出版社, 2011.
[15] 中华人民共和国卫生部. 食品安全国家标准较大婴儿和幼儿配方食品:GB 10767-2010 [S]. 北京:中国标准出版社, 2011.
[16] 中华人民共和国卫生部. 食品安全国家标准婴幼儿罐装辅助食品:GB 10770-2010 [S]. 北京:中国标准出版社, 2011.